Some New Faces

So my lineup of living things is much the same as it was last time… With the addition of some fancy new foodstuffs: dill and garlic!

One of these things is not like the others...

Basil, dill, garlic and syngonium

Like my basil plant, the dill was salvaged from one of those supermarket packages of “living” herbs with the roots & dirt still on.  It didn’t look so hot at first, but luckily I kept babying it and now it’s looking much more robust.  The resiliency of plants never ceases to amaze me!  I always worry when I over or under-water, or make some other mistake, like they’re fragile and delicate.

It mostly survived because I was too lazy to pull it out of the pot

Didn’t have a ton of hope for the dill at this stage…

But for the most part, they’re really, really not.  The dill looks fantastic now!  I’m afraid to harvest any, but maybe I should, if only to encourage branching.  It’s getting pretty tall.  I’ve been chopping off basil pretty aggressively (and putting it in everything, yum!) which is starting to make it pleasantly bushy.  But I’ll just leave the dill alone for now, I think.  It’s been through a lot.

Hard to tell with the trees in the background, unfortunately

Tall & proud, now! And even (mostly) green!

Like my basil, dill, and succulent, the garlic is also a “rescue…”  Can you tell that I don’t like paying for plants?  I forgot about a head of garlic in the fridge for a while, and was startled one day to find this at the back of my produce drawer:

"Plant me!"

This is the Farmpartment version of a “volunteer plant,” I suppose.

I planted eight cloves and let me tell you, they just boosted out of that soil.  They looked like this after I think only 2 days (no more than 3):

So fast.

What is this devilry???

Hit a little speed bump within the past week, unfortunately, and started yellowing and attracting a bunch of gnats.  I suspect a combo of too much water / too little sun, so I set up a nice makeshift grow light (aka desk lamp) and have been crossing my fingers for the soil to dry out a bit.  I probably should also thin them out, but I’m loathe to pull up any of my little volunteers  😦

I'm pulling for these little fellas!

We’ll just see how it goes.

Oh, and my bridal bouquet succulent has put out some new growth!  I’m honestly not quite sure how that works with succulents… will it just get spikier and spikier?  Will the old growth shrivel away?  I could absolutely google it, but I’m having quite a lot of fun just watching it do its thing.

My little baby is growing up! (I think.  Or I'm a plant grandma?)

Oh, the wonderful mystery of life…

Oh, and those papaya seeds from Hawaii?  Yeah, those didn’t work out.  I suppose I shouldn’t have expected much out of $2 souvenier seeds from a Wal-Mart next to the airport… But that would have been so cool!  Guess I’ll just have to “rescue” some sort of fruit seed next.

Do you have a garden, or a “garden” (like mine)?  How’s the harvest?

This post is shared in the DIY Linky at Little House in the Suburbs, and at Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday!

4 thoughts on “Some New Faces

  1. I bought a spaghetti squash at the store and seeded it before cooking it. Planted some seeds in my porch garden (we are in an apartment too) and they came right up! The plants might be too big for indoors though. I think I am going to sprout and grow an Avocado seed too for an indoor plant 🙂

    • Nice! I’m a big fan of trying to grow whatever random seeds I come across, ever since I picked up the book “don’t throw it, grow it.” It has a lot of common (and uncommon) fruits & veggies, and tells the easiest way to sprout their seeds. I think that would be a great way to get kids into gardening! Never would have considered spaghetti squash, that’s a fun one… I bet it will get super big, though. Maybe you can find a friend with a garden to donate it to?

      Thanks for reminding me of the avocado I’ve got in my fridge, I’ll have to save the pit – good luck with yours 🙂

  2. My father in law grows about 1000 bulbs of garlic per year. I just picked up about 30 organic bulbs also all the greens which I made into a garlic pesto. I’ll be posting the recipe and pics soon! Some people waste the greens but they are so full of flavour! Cheers MR.CBB

  3. Pingback: Internet Travel Guide: 3/21/2014 | The Farmpartment

Leave a Reply

