Internet Travel Guide (1/30/2014)

So there was a fun Twitter thing going on this week where people were drawing their “witchsona” and posting it. This is what I came up with:

Orbs are a fun party trick

I did it pretty quick in Manga Studio 4, which I’m not super familiar with yet, so I’m pretty proud of it. I guess if I had Witch Magic I would just use it to hover in the air and play with orbs? That actually sounds about right.

There are worse things to do with Witch Magic, I suppose.

 

I’ve got a thing for quotes; I’m really fascinated by the way little snippets of someone can proliferate and last, and be helpful or interesting even generations later. I tend to collect them automatically, so I think I’ll do a Quote of the Week so they at least serve a purpose. This week:

“Such as are your habitual thoughts, such also will be the character of your mind; for the soul is dyed by the thoughts.”
Marcus Aurelius

This is a cool thing: a photographer named Chino Otsuka collected photos from her childhood, and digitally inserted her current self. The results are perfect; serene and ever-so-creepy. I love stuff like that.

I don’t get political about a lot of stuff, but the women’s health debate hits pretty close to home for me, especially since I live in Texas. Rachel Held Evans wrote a wonderful piece on the topic from the perspective of someone who considers herself pro-life, but supports lowering the abortion rate through widely available contraception rather than legislation. I would love to see our country take an approach that supports struggling families, instead of punishing them.

On a lighter note, here’s a falcon* that’s really #winning.

*Or something. I’m not an ornithologist.

Leave a Reply

